

## CHINA AEROSPACE INTERNATIONAL HOLDINGS LIMITED

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (Stock code: 31)

## APPOINTMENT OF DIRECTOR & CHANGE OF PRESIDENT

The Board of Directors (the "Board") is pleased to announce that Mr. Zhao Liqiang has been appointed as an executive director of the Company with effect from 16 September 2004.

Mr. Zhao Liqiang, aged 42, a Research Fellow. He graduated from Beijing Aviation College in 1984, and from China Academy of Launch Vehicle Technology ("CALT") in 1987 with a master degree in Meter & Testing of Aerospace Vehicles. He joined the 704 Research Institute of CALT and held such posts as Deputy Team Head of the Second Office, Deputy Officer of Research Centre of Tracking & Navigating Equipment, Vice President, President, and Vice Chairman, and Vice Chairman, as well as General Manager of Beijing Satellite Technology & Navigation Limited, Deputy General Manager of China Aerospace Shidai Electronics Company, Director & President of Launch Vehicle Technology Company Limited since 1999.

As at the date of this announcement, Mr. Zhao was not interested in and did not hold any short position in any share or underlying share in or any debenture of the Company or any of its associated companies within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. Mr. Zhao has no relationship with any director, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholder of the Company (as defined in the Listing Rules). The amount of the director's fee and the annual bonus of Mr. Zhao will be determined by the Board from time to time with reference to his scope of duties and performance. There is no service contract between the Company and Mr. Zhao and there is no fixed term for his appointment and he is subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at annual general meetings of the Company in accordance with the Articles of the Company. Mr. Zhao does not hold any directorship in any other companies listed on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited in the past three years.

The Board also announces that, as the result of more important tasks to be taken by Mr. Rui Xiaowu in the major shareholder, it has accepted his resignation as President of the Group while staying as the Executive Director & Chairman, and Mr. Zhao Liqiang has been appointed as President of the Group simultaneously.

The Board would like to extend a warm welcome to Mr. Zhao in joining the Company.

As of the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises:

Executive Directors

Non Executive Directors

Mr. Rui Xiaowu Mr. Zhao Liqiang Mr. Zhou Qingquan Mr. Zhao Yuanchang Mr. Wu Hongju Mr. Guo Xianpeng Mr. Li Jinsheng Mr. Xu Shilong Mr. Chen Dingyi Independent Non Executive Directors

Mr. Lee Hung Sang Ms. Chan Ching Har, Eliza Mr. Chow Chan Lum, Charles

> By order of the Board **Rui Xiaowu** *Chairman*

Hong Kong, 16 September 2004