ZTE中兴 ZTE CORPORATION

中興通訊股份有限公司

(a joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 763)

ANNOUNCEMENT

The Company and all the members of the Board of Directors confirm that the information contained in this announcement is true, accurate and complete and that there are no false and misleading statements or material omissions in this announcement.

ZTE Corporation (hereinafter referred to as the "Company") proposes to implement a share distribution plan to issue A shares to its directors (subject to compliance with applicable rules under the Rule Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited), senior management and key personnel and will convene the meeting of the Board of Directors to consider and approve the details of the proposed plan (hereinafter referred to the "Share Distribution Plan"). The Company has sought and obtained the approval of Shenzhen Stock Exchange to suspend the trading of it's A shares listed on the Shenzhen Stock Exchange with effect from 9:30 a.m. on 18 October 2006 pending the release of an announcement setting out the details of the Share Distribution Plan (the "Shenzhen Announcement") in Shenzhen.

Trading in the H shares of the Company on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange will not be affected and the Company will make an announcement in Hong Kong containing substantially the same information as the Shenzhen Announcement on the date of publication of the Shenzhen Announcement. Such announcement to be made by the Company will comply with the applicable rules under the Rule Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

By order of the Board Hou Weigui Chairman

Shenzhen, PRC 18 October 2006

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises three executive directors, Yin Yimin, Shi Lirong and He Shiyou; six non-executive directors, Hou Weigui, Wang Zongyin, Xie Weiliang, Zhang Junchao, Li Juping and Dong Lianbo; and five independent non-executive directors, Zhu Wuxiang, Chen Shaohua, Qiao Wenjun, Mi Zhengkun and Li Jin.