The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

CHINA SOLAR ENERGY HOLDINGS LIMITED

(Incorporated in Bermuda with limited liability)

(Stock code: 155)

DELAY IN DESPATCH OF MAJOR TRANSACTION CIRCULAR

The Company has applied to the Stock Exchange for an extension of the deadline for despatch of the Circular from 12 June 2007 to 10 July 2007.

Reference is made to the announcement of China Solar Energy Holdings Limited (the "Company") dated 21 May 2007 (the "Announcement") in relation to the formation of a joint venture company of a tentative name of 江西贛能華基新能源有限公司 (Jiangxi Ganneng China-solar New Energy Co., Ltd). Capitalised terms used herein shall have the same meanings as those defined in the Announcement unless the context otherwise requires.

Pursuant to Rule 14.38 of the Listing Rules, the Company is required to despatch a circular in relation to the formation of a joint venture company under the Joint Venture Agreement (the "Circular") to the Shareholders within 21 days after publication of the Announcement, which is on or before 12 June 2007.

As additional time is needed for the Company to finalise the necessary financial information required for the Circular, which includes the proforma financial information, the working capital and indebtedness statement of the Group as enlarged by the formation of the Joint Venture Company ("Necessary Financial Information"), the Company has applied to the Stock Exchange for an extension of the deadline for despatch of the Circular from 12 June 2007 to 10 July 2007. Save for the Necessary Financial Information, the other parts of the Circular have already been completed.

By Order of the Board

China Solar Energy Holdings Limited

Tsang Wai Wa

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 12 June 2007

As at the date of this announcement, the Board comprises the Chairman and non-executive Director Dr. Zoltan J. Kiss, three Executive Directors, namely, Messrs. Pierre Seligman, Chu Chik Ming Jack and Chan Wai Kwong Peter and three Independent Non-executive Directors, namely, Messrs. Chow Siu Ngor, Yin Tat Man and Tam Kam Biu William.