The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance) (The holding company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited and MEVAS Bank Limited) (Stock Code: 2356)

APPOINTMENT AND REDESIGNATION OF DIRECTORS

The Board of Directors of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce the following changes of the Board with effect from 28 March 2007.

(1) Mr. Frederic Suet-Chiu Lau, aged 55, is appointed as an executive Director of the Company. He is currently an executive Director of Dah Sing Bank, Limited ("DSB") and MEVAS Bank Limited, key operating subsidiaries of the Company, and the Head of Group Risk of the Company and its banking subsidiaries (the "Banking Group") with responsibility for risk management. He graduated from the University of South Australia and obtained a Ph.D in Economics in 2004. He is a Chartered Financial Analyst and a member of Board of Trustees of Global Association of Risk Professionals with 20 years of experience in government or quasi-governmental departments in supervision of financial related corporations. Save as disclosed herein, Mr. Frederic Lau has not held any directorship in other Hong Kong listed public companies during the preceding three years.

Mr. Lau has not entered into any service contract with the Company or its subsidiaries. His salary package is covered by a contract of employment with DSB, which has been determined with reference to the remuneration policy of the Company and peer institutions in banking and related businesses, as well as time involved in carrying out duties and responsibilities for the Banking Group. Total emolument of Mr. Lau for the year ended 31 December 2006 is HK\$3,414,000. Although Mr. Lau, being an executive Director, has not been appointed for a specific term, he is subject to retirement by rotation once every three years and is eligible for re-election at the annual general meetings of the Company in accordance with the Articles of Association of the Company.

As at the date of this announcement, he is interested in options to subscribe for 250,000 shares of the Company and hence is interested in the shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

(2) Mr. Dennis Tat-Wang Yau, aged 59, is re-designated as a non-executive Director of the Company due to retirement. Saved as disclosed above, Mr. Yau does not hold any other position with the Company and its subsidiaries, nor hold any directorship in other Hong Kong listed public companies during the preceding three years.

Mr. Yau graduated from the University of Hong Kong with a Bachelor of Social Science degree. He has extensive experience in international trade gained from working in markets in North America, Europe, Japan and Mainland China.

The appointment of Mr. Yau as a non-executive Director of the Company shall be for an initial three-year term which, subject to re-election by shareholders at any annual general meeting, will expire at the conclusion of the third annual general meeting following the appointment. The annual emolument payable to Mr. Yau is to be fixed at HK\$180,000 per annum, subject to approval of the Nomination and Remuneration Committee of the Company.

As at the date of this announcement, he is not interested in any shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance.

Mr. Yau confirms that he has no disagreement with the Board and that he is not aware of any matter relating to his re-designation that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

Saved as disclosed above, each of Mr. Lau and Mr. Yau confirm that they are not related to any Directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company, nor are there any matters that need to be disclosed or to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company pursuant to Rules 13.51(h) to (w) of the Listing Rules.

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong, Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong), Lung-Man Chiu (John Chiu), Gary Pak-Ling Wang, Harold Tsu-Hing Wong and Frederic Suet-Chiu Lau. The independent non-executive Directors are Messrs. John William Simpson, David Richard Hinde, Robert Tsai-To Sze and Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung. The non-executive Directors are Mr. Keisuke Tahara and Dennis Tat-Wang Yau.