The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
The holding company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited and MEVAS Bank Limited
(Stock Code: 2356)

CHANGES OF THE BOARD

The Board of Directors of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited ("the Company") is pleased to announce the following changes to the Board with effect from 29 August 2006.

a) Mr. Kosuke Furukawa, aged 53, is appointed as a non-executive Director of the Company. Currently, Mr. Furukawa is the Deputy General Manager for the Hong Kong Branch of The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd. (being a 12.12% substantial shareholder of Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited ("DSFH") which is the ultimate holding company of the Company) and has extensive experience in banking. He obtained his Bachelor of Commercial Science degree from Osaka City University in 1977 and joined The Tokai Bank, Ltd. (now The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi UFJ, Ltd.) in 1977.

Mr. Furukawa currently is a non-executive Director of DSFH and is also an alternate director of Asia Financial Holdings Limited. Save as disclosed herein, Mr. Furukawa has not held any directorships in other Hong Kong listed public companies during the preceding three years.

Mr. Furukawa has not entered into any service contract with the Company. The appointment of Mr. Furukawa in the Company shall be for an initial three-year term which, subject to re-election by shareholders at any annual general meeting, will expire at the conclusion of third annual general meeting following the appointment. The annual emolument payable to Mr. Furukawa will be determined by the Company's Remuneration Committee.

Save as disclosed above, Mr. Furukawa is not related to any directors, senior management or substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company, nor are there any matters that need to be disclosed or to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company pursuant to Rules 13.51(h) to (w) of the Listing Rules. As at the date of this announcement, he is not interested in any shares of the Company within the meaning of Part XV of Securities and Futures Ordinance.

b) Mr. Takashi Muraoka resigned as a non-executive director of the Company. The Board expresses appreciation for Mr. Muraoka's valuable contributions during his tenure of service with the Company.

Mr. Muraoka confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board and that he is not aware of any matter relating to his resignation that needs to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company.

As at the date hereof after incorporating relevant changes of the Board, the Board of Directors of the Company is comprised of Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong as the Chairman, Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) as the Managing Director, David Richard Hinde, John William Simpson, Robert Tsai-To Sze and Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung as independent non-executive directors, Kosuke Furukawa as non-executive director, and Lung-Man Chiu (John Chiu), Gary Pak-Ling Wang, Harold Tsu-Hing Wong and Dennis Tat-Wang Yau as executive directors.

By Order of the Board H L Soo Company Secretary