The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

→ 大新金融集團有限公司 → DahSingFinancialHoldingsLimited

(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance) (Stock Code 0440)

大新銀行集團有限公司 DahSingBankingGroupLimited

(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability under the Companies Ordinance)
The holding company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited and MEVAS Bank Limited (Stock Code 2356)

JOINT ANNOUNCEMENT ACQUISITION OF 17% OF THE ISSUED SHARE CAPITAL OF CHONGOING COMMERCIAL BANK BY DAH SING BANK, LIMITED

Reference is made to the joint announcement issued by DSFH and DSBG dated 21 December 2006 in connection with the acquisition of 17% of the issued share capital of Chongqing Commercial Bank by DSB (the "Acquisition Announcement") and the circulars issued by DSFH and DSBG dated 10 January 2007 in relation to the Acquisition. Capitalised terms used and not otherwise defined herein shall have the same meanings given to them in the Acquisition Announcement.

Pursuant to the Share Purchase Agreement and as stated in the Acquisition Announcement, completion of the Acquisition is conditional upon a number of conditions, which may not be waived, being satisfied by 1 April 2007, or such other date as agreed by the parties.

As not all of the conditions had been satisfied by 1 April 2007, the Share Purchase Agreement was terminated by the Vendor in accordance with its terms to facilitate and expedite certain regulatory approval procedures and DSB and the Vendor have entered into a new share purchase agreement dated 4 April 2007 on substantially the same terms as between DSB and the Vendor under the Share Purchase Agreement, including, inter alia, the requirement to obtain regulatory approval from the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (the "New Share Purchase Agreement"). Pursuant to the New Share Purchase Agreement, DSB and the Vendor have agreed, among other things, to extend the completion date for the satisfaction of the conditions to 3 June 2007.

The Directors (including the Independent Non-executive Directors) remain of the view that the Acquisition is on normal commercial terms and the terms of the New Share Purchase Agreement remain fair and reasonable and in the interests of the Shareholders as a whole for the reasons disclosed in the Acquisition Announcement.

By Order of the Board

Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited

Hoi-Lun Soo (Helen Soo)

Company Secretary

By Order of the Board

Dah Sing Banking Group Limited

Hoi-Lun Soo (Helen Soo)

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 4 April 2007

As at the date of this announcement, the Executive Directors of DSFH are Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong, Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong), Roderick S. Anderson, Gary Pak-Ling Wang and Nicholas J. Mayhew. The Independent Non-executive Directors are Messrs. Peter G. Birch, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Tai-Lun Sun (Dennis Sun) and Kwok-Hung Yue (Justin Yue). The Non-executive Directors are Messrs. Chung-Kai Chow, Kunio Suzuki (Kenichi Yonetani as alternate), Tatsuo Tanaka (Keisuke Tahara as alternate), Eiichi Yoshikawa, John Wai-Wai Chow and Yiu-Ming Ng.

As at the date of this announcement, the Executive Directors of DSBG are Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong, Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong), Lung-Man Chiu (John Chiu), Gary Pak-Ling Wang, Harold Tsu-Hing Wong and Frederic Suet-Chiu Lau. The Independent non-executive Directors are Messrs. David Richard Hinde, John William Simpson, Robert Tsai-To Sze and Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung. The Non-executive Directors are Messrs. Keisuke Tahara and Dennis Tat-Wang Yau.