Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



■ 大新銀行集團有限公司 ▲ DahSingBankingGroupLimited

(incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) (stock code: 0440) (incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability) The holding company of Dah Sing Bank, Limited and MEVAS Bank Limited (stock code: 2356)

## **Completion of Placing of Existing Shares and Subscription of New Shares**

The Board of Dah Sing Banking Group Limited ("DSBG") and Dah Sing Financial Holdings Limited ("DSFH") announce that completion of the Placing and the Subscription took place on 24 April 2009 and 4 May 2009 respectively. 54,000,000 Placing Shares had been placed by the Placing Agent to Placees who are third parties independent of the Group and not connected persons (as defined in the Listing Rules) of the Group. 54,000,000 Subscription Shares had been issued to DSFH, being the Vendor, pursuant to the Placing and Subscription Agreement.

The net proceeds from the Subscription amount to approximately HK\$299 million, and are intended to be used to strengthen the capital base of DSBG's banking subsidiaries.

Reference is made to the joint announcement of DSBG and DSFH dated 21 April 2009 (the "Announcement") in relation to the Placing and Subscription of 54,000,000 Shares pursuant to the Placing and Subscription Agreement. Unless otherwise stated, terms used herein shall have the same meanings as defined in the Announcement.

The Boards of DSBG and DSFH are pleased to announce that completion of the Placing took place on 24 April 2009 and 54,000,000 Placing Shares had been placed by the Placing Agent to more than six Placees who are third parties independent of the Group and not connected persons (as defined in the Listing Rules) of the Group. The Board of DSBG further announces that all conditions of the Subscription stated in the Placing and Subscription Agreement have been fulfilled. The Subscription was completed on 4 May 2009, pursuant to which DSBG has allotted and issued 54,000,000 Subscription Shares to DSFH being the Vendor at HK\$5.60 per Subscription Share, which is the same as the Placing Price.

The net proceeds from the Subscription amount to approximately HK\$299 million, and are intended to be used to strengthen the capital base of DSBG's banking subsidiaries.

Immediately after the completion of the Subscription, DSFH's shareholding is reduced to 70.86% (from originally 74.96% prior to the Placing and Subscription) in the total issued share capital of DSBG as enlarged.

By Order of the Board DAH SING FINANCIAL HOLDINGS LIMITED H.L. Soo Company Secretary By Order of the Board DAH SING BANKING GROUP LIMITED H.L. Soo Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 4 May 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of DSBG comprises Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong (Chairman), Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) (Managing Director and Chief Executive), Lung-Man Chiu (John Chiu), Gary Pak-Ling Wang, Harold Tsu-Hing Wong and Frederic Suet-Chiu Lau as Executive Directors; Mr. Keisuke Tahara as Non-executive Director; Messrs. John William Simpson, David Richard Hinde, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Andrew Kwan-Yuen Leung and Seng-Lee Chan as Independent Non-executive Directors.

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of DSFH comprises Messrs. David Shou-Yeh Wong (Chairman), Hon-Hing Wong (Derek Wong) (Managing Director and Chief Executive), Roderick Stuart Anderson, Gary Pak-Ling Wang and Nicholas John Mayhew as Executive Directors; Messrs. Chung-Kai Chow, Kunio Suzuki (Kenichi Yonetani as alternate), Tatsuo Tanaka (Tetsuya Wada as alternate), Eiichi Yoshikawa, John Wai-Wai Chow and Yiu-Ming Ng as Non-executive Directors; Messrs. Peter Gibbs Birch, Robert Tsai-To Sze, Dr. Tai-Lun Sun (Dennis Sun), and Kwok-Hung Yue (Justin Yue) as Independent Non-executive Directors.