The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited takes no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, makes no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaims any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(STOCK CODE: 2600)

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL ADVISER

The Board wishes to announce the appointment of Taifook Capital Limited as the Independent Financial Advisor to the Independent Board Committee and the independent Shareholders in relation to the Whitewash Waiver in accordance with the Takeovers Code.

Reference is made to the announcement dated 20 July 2007 issued by the Company in relation to, amongst others, the Whitewash Waiver and the Merger Proposal (the "Announcement"). Unless otherwise defined, terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as defined in the Announcement.

APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT FINANCIAL ADVISER

The Board of the Company wishes to announce that, pursuant to Rule 2.1 of the Takeovers Code, Taifook Capital Limited has been appointed as the independent financial adviser ("IFA") in respect of the Whitewash Waiver and the connected transactions which will be constituted by the share exchange with Baotou Group and Guiyang Aluminum under the Merger Proposal. The appointment of the IFA has been approved by the Independent Board Committee and the IFA will advise the independent Shareholders and the Independent Board Committee in relation to the Whitewash Waiver and the connected transactions which will be constituted by the share exchange with Baotou Group and Guiyang Aluminum under the Merger Proposal.

Shareholders and investors should exercise caution when dealing in the securities of the Company.

By order of the Board

Aluminum Corporation of China Limited*

Liu Qiang

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 2 August 2007

As at the date of this announcement, the members of the Board of Directors comprise Mr. Xiao Yaqing, Mr. Luo Jianchuan. Mr. Chen Jihua and Mr. Liu Xiangmin (Executive Directors); Mr. Shi Chungui and Mr. Helmut Wieser (Non-executive Directors); Mr. Poon Yiu Kin, Samuel, Mr. Kang Yi and Mr. Zhang Zhuoyuan (Independent Non-executive Directors).

The Directors jointly and severally accept full responsibility for the accuracy of the information contained in this announcement and confirm, having made all reasonable enquiries, that to the best of their knowledge, opinions expressed in this announcement have been arrived at after due and careful consideration and there are no facts not contained in this announcement, the omission of which would make any statements in this announcement misleading.

* For identification purpose only.