Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.

中國人壽保險股份有限公司

CHINA LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 2628)

APPROVAL FOR DIRECTORS' QUALIFICATIONS, APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD, CHAIRPERSON OF THE SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE, AND MEMBERS OF THE BOARD'S SUB-COMMITTEES

At the annual general meeting of China Life Insurance Company Limited (the "Company") held on 25 May 2009, Mr. Sun Changji and Mr. Bruce Douglas Moore were elected as the independent non-executive directors of the Company. The Company is pleased to announce that on 4 June 2009, China Insurance Regulatory Commission approved the qualifications of Mr. Sun Changji and Mr. Bruce Douglas Moore as the Company's independent non-executive directors.

The Company is pleased to announce that the first meeting of the third session of the board of directors (the "Board") and the first meeting of the third session of the supervisory committee of the Company (the "Supervisory Committee") were held on 16 June 2009 and elected Mr. Yang Chao as the chairman of the Board and Ms. Xia Zhihua as the chairperson of the Supervisory Committee respectively. The Board also resolved to appoint members of each of the Audit Committee, the Risk Management Committee, the Nomination and Remuneration Committee and the Strategy Committee of the Company as follows:

Audit Committee

Mr. Bruce Douglas Moore (Chairman)

Mr. Sun Shuyi Mr. Sun Changji

Nomination and Remuneration Committee

Mr. Sun Changji (*Chairman*) Mr. Bruce Douglas Moore

Mr. Miao Jianmin

Risk Management Committee

Mr. Ma Yongwei (Chairman)

Ms. Zhuang Zuojin

Ms. Liu Yingqi

Strategy Committee

Mr. Sun Shuyi (Chairman)

Mr. Wan Feng

Mr. Shi Guoqing

Mr. Lin Dairen

By Order of the Board of

China Life Insurance Company Limited

Heng Kwoo Seng

Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 16 June 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Company comprises:

Executive Directors: Yang Chao, Wan Feng, Lin Dairen, Liu Yingqi Non-executive Directors: Miao Jianmin, Shi Guoqing, Zhuang Zuojin

Independent non-executive Directors: Sun Shuyi, Ma Yongwei, Sun Changji, Bruce Douglas Moore